top of page

Behind Your Smile (2016-2017)

Behind Your Smile is a Taiwanese drama. Zhao Yiting lives a cold and meaningless life as his only goal in life is to ruin the life of Lin Man. Due to painful events in his past. He later meets Lin Man's daughter Lei Xinyu and with cruel intentions he eventually falls for her overtime.


Behind Your Smiles is currently my 2nd favourite Taiwanese drama. From the very first episode you have instant suspense and curiosity. Marcus Chang seems to portray the role of Zhao Yiting effortlessly. Zhao Yiting is one of those characters that is in the Grey area. Even though Marcus Chang does not show much emotion you can see it all through his eyes and you can feel a sense of guilt. His character has taught himself to keep his true intentions and true feelings hidden over the years. Lei Xinyu can be perceived as those very annoying 'dumb' stereotypical characters. I love how Eugene Liu portrays this character she doesn't come across as annoying and appears to be very intelligent. Eugene Liu shows off two different sides to her character from sweet and innocent to smart and clever behind the scenes without other people noticing it. The two actors have great chemistry on screen.


From the very first episode I was instantly hooked. The mystery of the character's background of wanting answers kept me going. What I was amazed by was the cinematography. It is not something that I would expect in a Taiwanese drama and the production quality was great. It lifted the bar of what people would now expect to see in Taiwanese dramas. You could tell that the plot / storyline was really well planned out with no plot holes from start to finish.

When I started watching the show it seemed to be very dark and mysterious but throughout the episodes it becomes light hearted but with a twist. I was expecting more suspense from the show but I guess the directors want it to be more light hearted towards the end because of how it ended.

The OST's / Soundtrack worked really well with the dramas especially the opening song He isn't worth it by Taiwanese- Korean singer Shi Shi. The song adds to the mysterious vibe of going down a dangerous past of betrayal and getting hurt then wanting to run away and go back to where you started. Surprisingly the opening song reminds me of an Anime / Manga called Vampire Knight.

Overall I really enjoyed this drama but I did start to lose interest during the last 3 episode. All though it has a happy and sweet ending I was expecting a better ending. Like in the future or something.

This drama breaks the stereotypes about Taiwanese dramas. If you are looking for a Taiwanese drama to watch I would advice you to give this a go. At first I hesitated to watch this and thought I would be disappointed but I was wrong and binge watched it cause I couldn't stop.

I haven't been able to post lately because of problems with the website and I have also been sick. There are a bunch of dramas that I have watched that I want to do a review on but due to problems I can't post them but when I can post them I forget about them and struggle to write a review from being sick. Sorry if they don't turn out well.

OR: 8/10 R: Must Watch A: 4/5 CG: 13+

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page